Beans Beans the Magical Fruit


No, this post is not about the magical power of beans, but if you read this entire post you WILL read about two different bean recipes. Did the title catch your attention? If it got you here it did what it was supposed to do. When I first started my blog a couple of years ago, my intentions were to write a couple times a week. HA! That didn’t last long. I then told myself I would write at least once a week…….that didn’t last very long either. I was then happy to write a couple times a month and eventually that slowed down as well. It’s been a few months (probably actually longer than that, I’m afraid to see just how long if I’m totally honest here) since I’ve written and it is once again my goal to get back on track.

When I first started writing I wanted to write a blog that would someday make a little money….I’ve come to the realization that’s not likely to happen. I am so busy with everything else in life I just don’t have the time it would take to be a successful blog writer. Will that stop me from writing? NO! One of my greatest regrets is not taking the time to write. Anybody that knows me knows that I like to talk and writing is just a form of talking. It’s a well-known fact that once I get started it’s hard to shut me up. In order to get back into writing I decided that each time I finish a craft or a new recipe I must write about it before I can start another project. I had good intentions but I must admit that I’ve already gotten off track. This post (along with a few others) should have been written a couple of weeks ago and it’s my hope that “maybe” I will now get on track. Hopefully I can get this written without too many interruptions from the kid next door, aka my grandson Kavik.

The first project I am going to write about is the shower gift I made for my nephew Josh’s fiancée Tawni. Tawni and Josh are getting married on September 16th and I attended their shower on August 6th. Whenever possible I like to make the gifts that I give away, I find that it is more personal.

Insert interruption #1 here  -under demands from the kid next door I must now get on the floor and put a puzzle together……………

Okay, I’m back.

One of the gifts that I received at my own bridal shower about 34 years ago was a casserole dish that came with a wicker basket, it was one of my favorites. I used the wicker basket to dress up the dish for our own table and I also used it to transport the casserole dish when I attended a pot luck and needed to take a dish to pass. All those many years ago I mostly used the casserole dish for green bean casserole. I loved that casserole dish so much it is the gift I like to recreate to give to the future brides in my life.

In an effort to ensure that my bride will want to use my special gift I do my best to find out what colors may be her favorite. In this case I told Tawni that I would be making something for her kitchen and I sent her pictures of yarn that I had and asked her to choose two or three. Tawni choose purple, gray and cream. While I loved my wicker basket weaving is not one of my specialties, but crocheting is. I crocheted a basket for a casserole dish that I had found at a thrift shop (I like to re-purpose when I can) and I think it turned out pretty good! At the time that I completed this project I wasn’t thinking about writing about it so I didn’t think to take any pictures. I asked Tawni to take some and send them to me. Tawni passed that chore onto Josh and this is what I got….

21268550_10210267341263547_2142425703_n (1)

Tawni 3

Tawni 4 text

Tawni 6

Tawni 5 text

And that my friends is how I got pictures of the gift I made Tawni for her bridal shower. Along with the casserole dish I included the recipe for Josh’s favorite baked beans, the recipe for green bean casserole (Josh’s mama’s favorite) and recipes for two different kinds of scalloped corn. I also included the ingredients. I just LOVE putting together this kind of gift! Recipes for the bean dishes are included in this post. You can read about the corn recipes in my next post when I write about the casserole dish I put together for another bride………..lots of weddings this year!

Click here for the recipe for  Green Bean Casserole

Click here for the recipe for Aunt Sandi’s famous baked beans

Until next time,

Sandi, aka The Queen

If you liked this, please don’t forget to push the like and share buttons. Thank you!!

Subscribe to “I am the Queen”….the only place where you will be able to keep up on what’s happening in my crazy life AND where you can get cool ideas for knitting and crocheting and even cooler recipes. Enter your email address where it says “follow Blog via Email” on the right hand side of this page and I promise to only send you funny stuff and cool recipes once in a while and nothing spammy.

Leave a comment